Sorry folks…..

Sorry to break it to you folks, but the Decatur Diner is not open.  It’s sad, but true.  For months now we’ve heard rumors that the Decatur (Greek) Diner had finally opened.  And I kind of believed the hype as of late.  But alas, it does not appear to be true.  I drove by today and it did not look open.  The front door was open, the lights were on, and there was someone sitting in a booth.  But the kitchen doors were open and the kitchen was quite un-occupied.  There didn’t even seem to be signs of anyone having cooked there recently.  The person sitting in the booth was almost definitely the owner.  Smoking an pouring over the books.  I’m sure those books are not looking good.  No doubt it is a poor space for a full restaurant.  Too bad they didn’t get the “Sammiches and Stuff'” space.  I really think that the space that Decatur Dinner chose was just not meant for a full kitchen.  I think that most of there problems have come from the build-out of the kitchen.  A shame too because not only could this town use a decent 24-hour place but Greek food, just blocks from my job?  Hell yeah!  I’m seriously craving some falafel, gyro, spanikopita, trykopita, pastitsio, and most of all….BAKLAVA.  Oh sweet honey, nutty goodness that is baklava.  No, the Decatur Diner has yet to open.  But I still have hope that it will.  Someday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment